Grace Jones – ‘Pull Up to the Bumper’

pull-up-to-the-bumper-remix-569010d741f43
I was lucky enough to receive LPs of Grace Jone’s Island Life and Living My Life for Christmas. I also stumbled across the 12″ single of ‘My Jamaican Guy’ so I’ve been playing Grace Jones non-stop (again).

Listening to Island Life, the track that stood out to me on this occasion was ‘Pull Up to the Bumper’. Unlike Jones’s earlier disco work, her reggae influenced new-wave is where her voice sounds at home delivering a series of ridiculous innuendos. It’s a pretty perfect composition by Jones and the Compass Point all-stars with killer guitar, synth and bass hooks.

 

Track: Pull Up to the Bumper
Artist: Grace Jones
Year: 1981
From: Nightclubbing [Island]

Leave a Reply

