Fever Ray – ‘When I Grow Up (D. Lissvik Remix)’

tumblr_inline_ne9luhesvx1qc0s6g

Dan Lissvik’s reworking of Fever Ray’s ‘When I Grow Up’ is a simple, yet effective remixes that balances the gloom of Karin Dreijer Andersson’s vocals with a sunnier rhythm. Lissvik takes the hints of world music in the original and runs with it.

I love the lyrics of this song. There’s something wonderful about the melancholically mundane yet surreal about:

I’m very good with plants
When my friends are away
They let me keep the soil moist

 

Track: When I Grow Up
Artist: Fever Ray
Remix: Dan Lissvik
Year: 2009
From: When I Grow Up – EP [Rabid]

Leave a Reply

