The Joubert Singers – ‘Stand on the Word (Larry Levan Mix)’


maxresdefault

 

I’ve spent quiet a long time trying to work out the history of this record and… I’m not 100% sure, but the following is what I’ve managed to work out. This is a re-recording of an earlier record with the same singers. It was not actually mixed by Larry Levan, but he is credited for some reason. It became popular about a decade ago thanks to James Murphy playing it out live.

The reason I wanted to know where this track came from is that it’s so… interesting. It’s a disco/gospel record – and that’s not a combination that I don’t think I’ve heard before.

It begins with a plinky-plonky piano and then introduces a hint of organ, live drums and backing singers. It sounds very modern (very DFA) and retro all at once. I love the vocalists and, although I’m not one for religion, I love their conviction.

Track: Stand on the Word
Artist: The Joubert Singers (Larry Levan Mix)
Year: 1985
From: Stand on the Word [Favorite]

Leave a Reply

