Cassius – ‘I <3 U So (Skream's Made Zdar Feel Like He Was 20 Again Remix)'

99o0n5

Since the last time I wrote about Cassius, I’ve been reliving their two releases on Ed Banger: The Rawkers and the extra remixes included on the single ‘I ❤ U So’. There are two standouts (the other I might save for another day), but today I’m writing about the one I remember from 2010/11: the Skream remix.

I’ve always been a bit so-so with drum and bass: I like what I like, but I won’t go out of my way to listen to it. However, this particular track is some of the finest drum and bass around. And I know it’s good because whenever I hear those opening, lone piano chords, I routinely take a deep breath. I did it back then and I still do it now.

I really love the longwinded title of this remix, because (whether you were there or not) this remix transports you back to an early 90’s warehouse with its frantic BMP, ridiculously pitched-up vocals and a killer 8-bit breakdown.

Track: I ❤ U So
Artist: Cassius
Remix: Skream [Skream’s Made Zdar Feel Like He Was 20 Again Remix]
Year: 2011
From: I ❤ U So – EP [Ed Banger]

Leave a Reply

