Pino D’Angiò – ‘Ma Quale Idea’

R-1341448-1220863031.jpeg

A funky bassline can make up for a lot in a song and this one’s a real killer. If it sounds familiar, that might be because Madison Avenue later sampled it for ‘Don’t Call Me Baby’.

I am given to understand that the lyrics to this song are pretty sexist if you’re Italian. However, to my English language ears, this is a fun Italo disco song with some early rapping and words I semi-understand (I speak *some* Italian – but not a lot). As far as I can tell, this is about a guy hitting on a girl and meeting his match. She also drinks five litres of whiskey and they make jam (I’m pretty use the jam is a euphemism, but I could be wrong).

Anyway, just enjoy that sweet Italo disco groove, the plinky-plonky piano and a smarmy Italian man telling you to dance.

Artist: Pino D’Angiò
Track: Ma Quale Idea
Year: 1980
From: …Balla! [Ri-Fi]

Leave a Reply

